top of page

Global Encounters -- Mombasa, Kenya


Embarking on a safari in the Masaai Mara region of Kenya was a one-of-a-king experience.

My first travel experience came when I was at the ripe age of 17. Despite not having left my home for more than a couple days at a time, I took a leap of faith and left for a month. This service program was an opportunity for me to learn about a different way of life than my own. My passion for traveling and experiencing new cultures stemmed from this experience.

Self-development: This excursion was one where I was able to grow as an individual. I became much more independent as I learned to make my own decisions and have a developmental experience without my family. This program made me more humble, taught me about independence, and began my love for traveling.

Helping others: The service aspect was a huge part of this program. My group volunteered at a school in one of the rural regions of Kenya. Our project consisted of painting the walls of the school, donating books and supplies, and making sustainable flashcards for future students.

bottom of page